International tournaments

Go down

International tournaments

Post by rugbysportbox2 on Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:58 pm

Rugby World CupTop 12 teams from previous World Cup (the top 3 in each group) plus 8 nations from regional qualifying tournaments.19872015Quadrennial
Women's Rugby World Cup12 top national women's teams19912014Quadrennial[1]
Six Nations ChampionshipEnglandFranceIrelandItalyScotlandWales18832016AnnuallyOriginally the Home Nations Championship, then the Five Nations with France's entry into the competition in 1910. Became the Six Nations when Italy was added in 2000.
Women's Six Nations ChampionshipEnglandFranceIrelandItalyScotlandWales19962015AnnuallyOriginally the Home International Championship. Became the Five Nations in 1999 when France joined. Spain was added in 2000, but Ireland did not play all the other countries in 2000 or 2001, making the first true Women's Six Nations the 2002 competition. Spain were replaced by Italy effective in 2007 after the competition was taken over by the (men's) Six Nations committee.
The Rugby ChampionshipArgentina (since 2012), AustraliaNew ZealandSouth Africa19962015AnnuallyFrom its inception through 2011, the competition involved only Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, and was known as the Tri Nations.
Canada CupCanada, plus up to three other invitational teams.19932005Approximately biennialInternational women's tournament generally including the USA (missing only in 2005), plus New Zealand and/or England.
Churchill CupCanadaEngland SaxonsUnited Statesand three invitational teams.20032011AnnuallyThe England Saxons are England's "A" side. The invitational teams were a combination of "A" sides of top-tier nations and senior sides of lower-tier nations. The 2011 edition was the last, as Canada and the USA are now included in the global Test calendar.
FIRA Women's European ChampionshipUp to 16 European national teams19882012AnnuallyTournament for European women's national teams. Number of participants varies from year to year. The tournament is often divided into two "pools", dependent on playing strength. France and England, when they take part, normally enter "A" teams.
European Nations Cup36 European national teams20002012-2014AnnuallyExcludes European sides in the Six Nations Tournament. Played over two years on home and away basis with the competition split into three divisions. Including sub-divisions, the competition includes 7 levels, with promotion and relegation.
Pacific Nations CupFijiJapanSamoaTonga20062013AnnuallyOriginally Pacific Five Nations — replaced the Pacific Tri-Nations.The original teams were Australia A, the Junior All Blacks (New Zealand's official "A" side), and the three Pacific Island nations. In 2008, the New Zealand Māori replaced the Junior All Blacks. From 2010-2012, only the Pacific Island nations and Japan participated who were then joined by Canada and USA. Due to their inclusion in the Quadrangular tournament in South Africa, Samoa did not feature in the 2013 edition of the Pacific Nations Cup.,[2] to the competition in 2014.
Nations CupVaries from year to year; the 2013 participants have been Argentina JaguarsItaly AI, Romania, and Russia.20062013AnnuallyThe Argentina Jaguars were formerly known as Argentina A, and the Emerging Springboks are South Africa's A side. The inaugural tournament in 2006 featured Argentina A, Italy A, Portugal and Russia.
Asian 5 NationsTop five Asian sides20082013AnnuallyThe inaugural tournament in 2008 featured JapanKoreaHong KongKazakhstan and Arabian Gulf. Yearly promotion and relegation with three lower divisions.

Posts : 11
Join date : 2017-01-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum